About us

Journey in summer 2017

Wuuuf, wuuuf… Zora is my 11 years old companion. She is a Border Collie, Appenzeller and Bergamasco mix. This summer she will be joining me on the tour.

Journey in summer 2016

Hi, I’m Matt!

I’m an English lad who grew up in Zürich Switzerland and I’ve been here for over 20 years (I’m 25 now). I am doing this trip because I have been working a very tough and stressful job for the past 2.5 years and realised that it wasn’t really what I wanted to be doing. I have no experience at all in bicycle touring, but after a lot of research it seems like a great way to travel and a great adventure. Eventhough I am not a very athletic person and have no experience, I think with a little bit of preparation and research anyone can do it. So I decided to take the money I have saved, quit my job and go on this journey. While I am still young and dont have too many responsibilities I thought it would be the ideal time to do something different, exciting and fulfilling. So I am swapping my desk, computer and apartmtnet for a bike, a tent and a sleeping bag and I can’t wait!

and I’m Rafaela 🙂

At the moment I’m doing an apprenticeship in Accounting and Business Administration, and this summer two days before we leave I have my last exam, so please keep your fingers crossed. Besides finishing my education (for now) I’m a Segway Tourguide, it’s probably the best job I have ever had. Before all of this I was living in the French part of Switzerland for a few months and also worked for the Umwelt Arena which is an environmental Museum just outside of Zürich. I love going on hikes in summer with my dog Zora and whoever has time to come along. I like to do sport but I have never really biked for long distances before. So lets see what this journey bings.